Malvern Hills Trust Special Meeting of the Board St Andrew's Church Hall, Churchdown Road, Malvern WR14 3JX Thursday 30 November 2023 6pm

Present: Mrs C Palmer(Chair), Mr D Baldwin, Mr R Bartholomew, Mr R Berry, Mr P

Clayburn, Mr D Core, Mr M Driscoll, Mr D Fellows, Mr R Fowler, Mr J Michael, Mr J Owenson, Mr C Penn, Prof J Raine, Mrs F Victory, Mr M Victory and Mrs S

Wren.

In attendance: CEO, Secretary to the Board, Incoming Secretary to the Board, three members of staff, two members of the public.

Absent: Mrs M Alexander

1. Welcome

Mrs Palmer welcomed Mrs Wren, newly appointed Trustee for Herefordshire County Council, and Mr Owenson, who was attending his first meeting.

2. Apologies for absence

Mr A Cottam, Mrs L Hodgson, Mrs F Robinson, Mr C Rouse, Mr J Stock, Prof D Westbury and Mr M Wilkinson.

3. Chair's announcements

Mrs Palmer advised a change to the order of agenda items.

4. Declarations of interest

There were none.

5. Public Comments

There were none.

6. Additional appointments to Land Management Committee

On the proposal of Mr Penn, seconded by Mr Clayburn, it was **RESOLVED** to make the following additional appointments to Land Management Committee: Mr Stock, Mrs Victory and Mrs Wren.

7. Appointment of Governance Committee

On the proposal of Mrs Palmer, seconded by Mr Bartholomew, it was resolved (with one against and two abstentions) to appoint the following trustees to the Governance Committee:

Governance Committee

Mr Bartholomew
Mr Clayburn
Mr Core
Mr Fellows
Mr Michael
Mr Penn
Prof Raine

8. Appointment of Staffing Committee

Trustees had today received a letter from MHT staff expressing concern that four trustees had declined to sign the Code of Conduct and stating that they would not have confidence in a Staffing Committee membership that included any of these trustees. Staff were also concerned about the number of staff resignations during the last year. Trustees expressed their concern about the content of the letter and it was agreed to discuss appropriate action during the confidential section of the meeting.

On the proposal of Mr Clayburn, seconded by Mr Driscoll, it was **RESOLVED** (with two against and one abstention) to appoint the following trustees to the Staffing Committee:

Staffing Committee

Mr Baldwin

Mr Bartholomew

Mrs Palmer

Mr Penn

Prof Raine

Mrs Victory

Mrs Wren

9. Date of next meeting

18 January 2024.

10. Confidential items

On the proposal of Mr Core, seconded by Mr Clayburn it was **RESOLVED** unanimously to exclude the public for discussion of an item of urgent business on the agenda on the grounds that publicity would be prejudicial to the public interest by reason of the exempt or confidential nature of the business to be transacted (personnel matters).

The meeting closed at 7.30pm		

Minutes approved by:......Date:......Date:

